Manchin Wants Colleagues to Shun Pay if Government Shuts Down

Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) “wants his colleagues to join him in turning their pay over to charities or the Treasury in the event of a government shutdown,” POLITICO reports.

“I will take this pledge, and I urge you all – from the president and vice president to all members of Congress – to take it with me: I will forego my federal salary until we reach an agreement. I will donate my salary to charity or return it to the Treasury until the government works again,” Manchin writes in a “Dear Colleague” letter going out this morning.

“The bottom line is this: I can’t imagine that the President, Vice President or any Member of Congress – Republican or Democrat – thinks they should get paid when the government has shut down.”

According to Mike Allen, Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) supports the idea.

She introduced legislation in the Senate, which was unanimously adopted last month, that would prevent members of Congress and the President from being paid during a shutdown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Government Shutdown

Leave a Reply

