Vermont Senate: Salmon Forms Exploratory Committee

Vermont Auditor Tom Salmon (R) “says he is starting an exploratory committee for U.S. Senate,” WCAX News reports.

The Republican says he is considering a run against Sen. Bernie Sanders, I-Vermont.

[…]

"I do need to take the next step, and that step will be to, beginning tonight, I’m declaring that I’m entering an exploratory phase for U.S. Senate," Salmon said in a live interview on the Channel 3 News at 6 p.m.

"I know it’s a daunting task, but we’re living in very difficult times and I feel a responsibility," Salmon said. "I think at this point, there are probably three people who think I can win, and the good news is I’m one of them. But I think as I measure my decision and work through a period of research and reflection with others and raise some money– I have [sic] committee that includes Governor Salmon and Governor Douglas– and the idea here is to make a smart decision before fully declaring myself as a full-time committed candidate for U.S. Senate."

Leave a comment

Filed under Election

Leave a Reply

