Virginia Senate: Kaine Unlikely to Run

Democratic National Committee (DNC) Chairman Tim Kaine “said he wouldn’t run for Senate in his native Virginia if Sen. Jim Webb (D) doesn’t seek reelection,” The Hill reports.

Kaine, a popular former governor of Virginia, said that he expects Webb to seek a second term, and that even if Webb were to retire, he wouldn’t seek that job.

"No, I’ve got a job I really like right now, tough as it may be" Kaine said on MSNBC when asked if he’d consider running. "And I’m doing what the president wants me to do."

"My full expectation is that I’m going to be supporting a great Virginia Democrat and I believe that Virginia Democrat will be Jim Webb for the Senate seat," Kaine added.

Leave a comment

Filed under Election

Leave a Reply

