Rubio Not Interested in Vice Presidential Nomination

Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) “said Monday that he has no interest in becoming his party’s vice presidential nominee in 2012,” The Hill reports.

Rubio, a newly-elected senator who’s considered a rising star in the GOP, rejected running on the Republican party ticket in two years.

"No, and I don’t spend any time thinking about it," Rubio said on 92.5 radio in Ft. Myers, when asked if he’d be open to serving as the party’s vice presidential nominee.

"I’m flattered that people would ask that question, because I think they mean it in a complimentary way. But, by the same token, I recognize that this job — this one job that I wanted, I wanted to be a U.S. senator, not a vice presidential candidate, not a presidential candidate," Rubio added. "I didn’t run to use it as a stepping stone, I ran to because I wanted to be a U.S. senator."

Leave a comment

Filed under Election, White House

Leave a Reply

