Senate Convenes 112th Congress

The Senate convened today the first session of the 112th Congress.  Here’s a look at which members were sworn in for a new term and / or for the first time as a United States Senator:

  • Ayotte (R-NH)
  • Bennet (D-CO)
  • Blumenthal (D-CT)
  • Blunt (R-MO)
  • Boozman (R-AR)
  • Boxer (D-CA)
  • Burr (R-NC)
  • Coats (R-IN)
  • Coburn (R-OK)
  • Crapo (R-ID)
  • DeMint (R-SC)
  • Gillibrand (D-NY)
  • Grassley (R-IA)
  • Hoeven (R-ND)
  • Inouye (D-HI)
  • Isakson (R-GA)
  • Johnson (R-WI)
  • Kirk (R-IL)
  • Leahy (D-VT)
  • Lee (R-UT)
  • McCain (R-AZ)
  • Mikulski (D-MD)*
  • Moran (R-KS)
  • Murkowski (R-AK)
  • Murray (D-WA)
  • Paul (R-KY)
  • Portman (R-OH)
  • Reid (D-NV)
  • Rubio (R-FL)
  • Schumer (D-NY)
  • Shelby (R-AL)
  • Thune (R-SD)
  • Toomey (R-PA)
  • Vitter (R-LA)
  • Wyden (D-OR)

Based upon caucus affiliations, the balance of power is now 53 Democrats to 47 Republicans.

*Senator Mikulski became the longest-serving female Senator in history after being sworn in today.


1 Comment

Filed under Rules & Traditions

One response to “Senate Convenes 112th Congress

  1. betty todd

    All of the senators have a .job to do for all people and not some of the people. If these senators cannot work in a bipartisan way for the good of the people they should not be able to continue their term.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s