Kentucky Senate: McConnell Already Talking 2014 Run

Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) is “already talking about his own 2014 reelection race for a sixth term,” POLITICO reports.

The 68-year-old McConnell is hiring key staff in top positions and beginning to build a substantial war chest for a race that’s four years away — a sign that he’s not thinking about getting out of leadership anytime soon.

“I’m not planning on running; I am running,” he said definitively. “I’ve never been someone who has started late or who agonized publicly over whether I was going to run. I feel like I’m at the top of my game, at my peak effectiveness, and I certainly am going to run again in 2014.”

1 Comment

Filed under Election, Party Leadership

One response to “Kentucky Senate: McConnell Already Talking 2014 Run

  1. Bruce J. Kaae

    I appreciate the stand you are taking to limit the Federal Goverments intrusion into health care.
    I like health care to stay with me rather than my employer. I like reducing cost by tort reform.
    I do not like increased cost and reduced coverage due to the federal government takeover.
    WOULD YOU GIVE ME A LIST OF THE SENATORS WHO IN EFFECT SUPPORTED THE HEALTH CARE ISSUE AS RECENTLY VOTED ON BY THE SENATE.

    Bruce Kaae
    461 Payne Trail
    London, KY 40741
    or
    bjkaae@aol.com

Leave a Reply

