A Personal Note

Effective today, I’ll no longer be posting updates to this blog and its corresponding Twitter feed. Operating this site for just shy of four years now has made the decision a tough one.

It’s become increasingly difficult to keep up with all that is going on in the Senate since this has remained a hobby of mine and has not materialized into paid work. I’ve done everything by myself from day one which has also made it more of a challenge to step away from things on a consistent basis when needed without falling behind.

For some, my coverage of the Senate has become something they relied on to keep up with various issues. For that I am humbled and grateful. My goal has always been to keep people informed in an up-to-date fashion. I don’t feel I can maintain that level of commitment any longer while juggling the various other aspects of daily life.

It’s been fun getting to interact online with some great reporters who work at the Capitol and around D.C. I would especially like to thank those writing for POLITICO, The Hill, Talking Points Memo, The Washington Post, Roll Call/CQ, The Huffington Post, National Journal/Hotline On Call and, of course, the wire services for their excellent reporting. They are all tremendously hard-working and talented individuals who made what I did possible.

I’d also like to thank those Senate press offices who were kind enough to be responsive to an unknown blogger such as myself. And of course, C-SPAN, without which floor coverage would not have been possible.

On a final personal note for those interested, I live and work in Oklahoma in the legal profession. That explains my at times incessant Twitter updates about OU football. I’m 27 years old and happily married.

Thanks again to all for your support and God bless.

Josh

28 Comments

Filed under Misc.

28 responses to “A Personal Note

  1. Great job and thanks!

  2. kayo

    I’ve followed your twitter feed and very much appreciated it. Best of luck to you in the future.

  3. jamie

    Josh, your site helped me get through two years working on the Senate side. Information will certainly be much missed!

  4. Ezriel

    I Will miss you very much I enjoyed very much your tweets you really kept me up to date, you will be greatly missed! But I wish you good luck in what you are doing

    Good luck have fun

    P.S is there anyone else on twitter who you can refer to keep me updated with what’s going on in the senate

  5. txchick57

    Best of luck to you and thank you so much for your work.

  6. Pat

    Thank you so much for all your work. I have learned so much reading your blog. Best wishes.

  7. Matt

    Josh I’ve followed your feed for years and it has not only helped me stay informed but helped me build a literacy of Senate workings and procedure. Thank you very much for all the time you’ve spent doing this, I deeply appreciate it and I’m not sure if theres an alternate source that fills that void. All the best to you in the future.

    Matt

  8. I understand your decision but of course I am really said. You did an outstanding job, and your updates will be definitely missed. You saved all of us a lot of time, and your perspective was always appreciated. Thanks again for a job well done.

  9. I understand your decision but of course I am really sad. You did an outstanding job, and your updates will be definitely missed. You saved all of us a lot of time, and your perspective was always appreciated. Thanks again for a job well done.

  10. Rob wells

    Very nice job, thanks for doing this. You will be missed for sure.

  11. bulldog

    Thank you for your hard work, will miss your blog.

  12. Matt

    Read your stuff every single day. Immensely grateful for the hard work. Godspeed.

  13. Patsy

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! Don’t go. Yours is the first place that I looked to for information on Senate business. Thank you for your good work Josh!! You will be missed. There is still time to change your mind.

  14. Patsy

    Are you at going to allow sometime to see if there is any interest by anyone to continue posting on this site?

    Anyone?

  15. Ken

    I personally want to thank you Josh for all the hard work you put in each day to keep me and many others informed. I looked forward to your post each and every day. You will be missed and will remain in our prayers. May God bless you and your family.

  16. Daniel

    Thank you so much for all the work you did all these years. I understand your decision, but immensely regret it!

    Good luck going forward!

  17. You’re from Oklahoma? I didn’t know that. I do understand your decision to slow down. It can become a second job without the second pay. I suspect you’ll find plenty to do with the extra time.

    Godspeed.

  18. Your work here will be missed. Thank you for all the effort you’ve put in over the years. Best of luck in all you do!

  19. Troy Ellen Dixon

    Thank you for keeping us informed for as long as you have. Your updates were invaluable and very much appreciated. I wish you all the best!

  20. Dave

    Just a quick note of thanks for your hard work. You’ve done a remarkable thing here, and it will be missed.

  21. ctmom

    Will miss your updates. Well done.

  22. Siobhan Hughes

    Thank you! You did a great job.

  23. Josh,

    I’m so sorry that you have decided not to continue your blog posts, but I completely understand. It can be time consuming (though very exciting) to cover the Hill. I will definitely miss your blog posts and Twitter updates.

    Best of luck!

  24. Your excellent work will be missed. Best of luck in all your future endeavors.

  25. Hey Josh, Really enjoyed your work and in some ways depended on it. Senatus will be missed. Let me know next time you come to Washington DC. Lets grab a beer.

  26. lin

    Thank you for all the time and effort you put into this site. It must of taken a huge amount of time and effort and its been an excellent source of information. Good luck with your future plans!

  27. Ashley

    Josh, as a senate press staffer I want you to know how valuable of a source your blog has been to me. Not that you would ever want to move away from Oklahoma, but have you considered applying for a job “inside the beltway”? You would be great. THUNDER UP!!

Leave a Reply

