Democrats Introduce the American Workers, State and Business Relief Act

http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/09V32QV1qU94d/610x.jpg

Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus (D-MT) and Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) “today introduced legislation to extend unemployment insurance benefits and eligibility for unemployment health care benefits through the end of 2010, including extending benefits retroactively so families will receive the benefits that were suspended when these programs expired on February 28,” according to a press release.

The bill “restores eligibility to receive unemployment insurance and COBRA health insurance benefits retroactively, beginning February 28, when the program expired, through December 31, 2010.”

It also “retroactively extends tax cuts for families and small businesses that expired at the end of 2009.”  The bill, which has been offered as a substitute amendment to H.R. 4213, is called the American Workers, State and Business Relief Act.

You can read about all the specific tax extenders here.

Update: According to the Washington Post, this package will cost around $150 billion.

(credit image – getty)

5 Comments

Filed under Taxes, Unemployment

5 responses to “Democrats Introduce the American Workers, State and Business Relief Act

  1. Ryder

    It’s about time but now we ask how long is this going to take Washington and how long will we be without money to survive until this is a done deal?? I thought something was being done immediately for a 30 day period in order to give Washington time to fight over something like this? Talk to us Washington….we need to know. Not only that there are already furloughs for workers because Bunning is a cold hearted jerk and more to come if something isn’t done ASAP. Keep the damn money for Chile and everywhere else and give it to the American taxpayers who did not lose their jobs by their own hands. Take care of America first.

  2. RAP

    I agree with Ryder. I would go to work tomorrow if I could find a job. I’ve worked for over 30 years and I’ve been looking for work for two years now. It makes me ill to think that my Country would turn it’s back on me and then send aide around the world in order to be “politically correct”. I paid taxes when I was working those thirty years. Do I need to move to India, Iraq, Chili or Haiti to be heard?

  3. Paul

    If I understand this correctly, the new bill will allow the extensions to unemployment insurance, the COBRA subsidy, and the additional $25 per week in unemployment benefits, to be granted to eligible individuals through the end of 2010. This does not however guarantee any additional benefits to people who will be running out of emergency benefits. I have 5 weeks left on my Tier 4 benefits, and once that is gone I will get no more insurance. I’m getting Tier 4 benefits because I’m in a high unemployment state, so what is the likelihood of finding work. If this new bill passes, I can see having to go through gut-wrenching times again in a few weeks hoping against hope that a Tier 5 benefits extension passes. Last comment from me is that Jon Kyl has no clue what it is like to be unemployed and unsure of the future if he could say that unemployment benefits are a “disincentive” to people looking for work.

  4. georginashenton

    In the current state of economy, selecting a medical insurance plan that has great coverage and is affordable can be a difficult task. Still, health is our most valuable asset and it is very important to protect it as much as possible.
    Thus it is essential to truly understand the importance of global medical insurance and who to go about finding it.

  5. David Bryant

    A temporary fix. I mean come on this is my living right now. My Tier 2 will exhaust May 1st and hell I don’t want any drama. I read this bill but when are they going to vote on this? I mean I can’t believe this. I would be back at work in a heartbeat if I could find something. This is nuts Tiers…come on it should be we get it untill it gets better. This country is suppose to take care of it’s people.

    I need to know…and there has to more Tiers they can’t believe we don’t need more.

Leave a Reply

